Mucinex (Guaifenesin)

By CaroleArie Added at June 17, 2011 Views 3,240 Reviews 10

Mucinex is a long-lasting version of the generic expectorant, Guiafenesin, which, "Helps loosen phlegm (mucous) and thin bronchial secretions to rid the bronchial passageways of bothersome mucous and make cough more productive."

Guiafenesin can be found in tablet or liquid form. It is also a component in many cough and cold medications. Just look for the word, "Expectorant," or for a statement about chest congestion.

(I use the generic version)

  • Report Report as inappropriate
  • Share
    Email Email
    Print Print Twitter Twitter
    Facebook Facebook

Reviews (8 reviews)

Add your review Reply Down
cgjr
cgjr February 24, 2018 at 5:36 pm   

I'm new hear so bear with me i take musings the 12 hour dose and yes i think it helps me a lot glade to see I'm doing something right. thanks for the post.

barb7763
barb7763 September 25, 2013 at 10:33 pm   

I use the DM musinex formula because it helps control the cough that wears me out while thinning the mucus

MainEvent
MainEvent March 2, 2012 at 7:19 pm   

I take the generic brand of Mucinex and I get good relief when I take it every 12 hours as you would with the Mucinex. Even though the strength is not quite the same, it still works. I get mine at the dollar store for $4.50/50 ( so almost a months supply).

Rowina
Rowina September 2, 2011 at 1:48 am   

Prefer the generic for cost though less convenient. My DR even prescribes Mucinex as part of my treatment when my lungs sound congested as it works and is less expensive than a prescription. I am never without a good supply at home just in case.

Anonymous
Anonymous August 27, 2011 at 5:46 pm   
Edited August 27, 2011 at 5:49 pm by Anonymous

Generic Mucinex works very well . Savings in cost is worth extra effort. Just remember to take it every 4 hours for lasting relief

Anonymous
Anonymous July 13, 2011 at 10:17 pm   

yes the downside is the cost of Mucinex, but the benefits are the way it works.. I have a much better time getting rid of mucus quickly using it.

CaroleArie
CaroleArie June 17, 2011 at 10:33 am   

You're very welcome. I finally SLEPT last night! Because I finally remembered I had expectorants. We're having a nice, quiet, laid-back kinda day. Sipping black tea.

I'm sorry about your fan. I NEED moving air around me. Sleep well tonight.

CaroleArie
CaroleArie June 17, 2011 at 8:55 am   
Pros

Guiafenesin works very well to thin mucous so it can be coughed up and out. The Mucinex brand is an extended-release tablet which only has to be taken twice a day, making it more convenient. The generic form is taken every 4 hours, not to exceed six doses in a 24 hour period.

Cons

Costs significantly more than generic.

Hide the Social Toolbar Show the Social Toolbar